Daily Archives: March 30, 2014

Weight loss, mental health

It’s 3 PM and I just woke up! I can’t believe I slept that much! Bf is still sleeping, he was drunk yesterday. I didn’t drink much because I didn’t feel like adding unnecessary calories to my body. It’s crazy, now that I write down what I eat, it’s easier for me to resist temptation. I also try to leave food on my plate when I eat out to practice removing the guilt of not finishing all my food.

I waited until I was stable mentally to start this challenge, and I think it’s important for me to share that. I would not recommend anyone who has mental health issues that are n0t in remission to start a challenge like that, specifically because it’s mentally demanding. It’s important to focus on yourself and getting through the days, finding ways to built your self esteem and having a healthy armor against outside stressors.

I’m an emotional eater, and when people tell me I’m fat, I actually eat more. I came to  point that I was so focused on my mental well being that what people told me about my weight didn’t affect me as much. I had stopped binge eating. It’s only then that I started thinking about loosing weight. I still need to work on my mental health but it’s more maintenance, since some of my self care has become a routine, I don’t have to invest too much energy in it.

If you look at my weight loss plan, you will see that I’m not going cold turkey, and that I want to respect my own rhythm. If it happens that this plan affects my mental health badly, I will reconsider, because depression is a deadly disease and it’s strikes faster than obesity.

I also focus on what I like about myself, for example I like my face and my hair, so when they look good, I feel pretty so I’m not conscious about my body when I go out. This requires daily effort, because I really hate my body, I like to be skinny, but when I wear something I like, and I take my time to look good (from my point  of view) I forget that I’m fat and I feel wonderful.

OMG! My upstairs neighbors are driving me crazy! They’re making so much noise! On top of our bedroom is the kids bedroom, I don’t know what they’re doing, they seem to be moving furniture or something. I need some peace and quiet right now, and they’re doing the opposite. If Bf wakes up, he wont be happy, he hates it when they do that. (As in every week end, all day!). I really miss my house in Haiti right now…

It’s all for now my loves! I’m gonna go make some coffee so I can wake up.

Kisses!

 

 

 

 

 

Weight loss plan (Revisited)

 

I had a test run this week and I realized that I can start my project with a lower calorie intake per day. So I’m modifying my plan to adapt it to the results of the test run. 

Phase 1 (April-July) : Lifestyle change 

By the end of phase 1 I expect to loose 20 pounds. I will weight in once a week, on Mondays. By setting attainable weekly goals I hope I will be able go achieve my goal. I’m using a modified food pyramid made for people with diabetes. 

April : Remove fast food and Coca Cola from my diet. I’ll be allowed 1 cheat day per week. I also have to update my food journal (on the blog) daily. Try to stay under 2000 calories a day.Stay under 1500 calories a day

Week 1: No Coca Cola or any other soft drink

Week 2: Reduce sugar to 50 grams a day (recommended daily amount), replace white sugar with brown sugar

Week 3: Reduce bread to  2 slices 1 slice     of bread per day. Eat no more than 1 cup or starch per day

Week 4: Remove peanut butter from diet Max (once a week).  Switch to natural peanut butter, twice a week maximum

 

May: Add exercise to my routine. Cheat day only twice a month. 

Week 1:  30 minutes of exercise (cardio) 3 times a week

Week 2: 30 minutes of exercise (cardio) 5 times a week

Week 3: 30 minutes cardio + 30 minutes yoga or Pilate 3 times a week

Week 4: 30 minutes of cardio +30 minutes of yoga or Pilate 5 times a week.

 

June: Reduce calorie intake to 1500  1200 ,  lower the amount of starch per week, control protein portion. No more cheat day.

Week 1: No starch more than 3 times a week for dinner (including cheat day)1 slice of bread maximum  Bread twice a week maximum

Week 2: Starch reduce to twice a week. No more bread Bread once a week

Week 3: Starch once a week, no more bread 

Week 4: No more cheat day. Get rid of  sweets completely (Except for my morning coffee). 

 

I will keep on modifying it to adapt it to my lifestyle and to my pace, what’s important is that I have a written plan that I actually follow. 

Wish me luck my loves !

BLOGGING FROM A TO Z CHALLENGE 2014/ Bucket list

APRIL-CALENDAR [2014]

For the month of April I will participate in the Blogging from A to Z challenge and complete one of my bucket list task at the same time ( #20 Take a picture for each letter of the alphabet). I don’t have a theme yet it will probably be on random words, as the days go by. So for the month I will write about a topic starting with each letter of the alphabet and take a picture that fits with the theme.

.

Meditation quote of the night

 

“Sometimes the hardest part isn’t letting go but rather learning to start over.”
― Nicole SobonProgram 13

Food journal

– don’t know how much I ate today, but I ate too much, I’m at the bar with bf, so I’m pretty sure I blew the 1500 calories, I’m probably probably 2000 calories. So tomorrow I’m going back down to 1500, probably less because monday it’s the official start day!