A to Z challenge-Bucket list (E) Elocution

Elocution

Elocution, S.  Green

Elocution, S. Green

Like most of you know, I skipped a couple of grades in school, so I was most of my life being the youngest in my class. I was bullied, even though I didn’t know that was how it was called until I came to Canada, but as a result I was very shy and lacked self confidence.
In middle school and high school we always had presentations to do in front of the class. For my science classes I used to do fine because I was obsessed about science and I could speak my jargon without caring about the rest of the class understanding.
But for my language classes it was a whole other story, I would shiver at the though of reciting a poem, or reading one of my essays. Most of the time , the teacher would end up mocking me and the rest of the class would laugh at me, it was always a painful experience.
When I got to college I was more confident in my intellectual abilities and college culture encourages difference.  So I decided to put my fast learning skills to use and  learn the art of elocution.

Below are some tips I used to be better at speaking in public:

1- Master your topic , the more knowledge you have, the more confident you will be.

2-Practice, Practice, Practice! In front of the mirror, at loud, record yourself, ask for feedback, research words you don’t know etc.

3- Focus on the people that seem to enjoy your talk, it boosts your confidence.

4-If you forget your words, just take a quick break, take a deep breath, smile and go on with your speech.

5-Remember we are our worst critics, so be compassionate towards yourself,what matters is that you did your best.

 

Have you ever struggled with public speaking? Are you an introvert? Do you have some tips you want to share? 

Where you ever bullied? How did that affect you? 

Please comment!

S. Green 

Posted on April 5, 2014, in A to Z Challenge, Completed tasks (Bucket list) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on just an every day life and commented:
    Excellent advice! Something I also struggle with.

  2. Good tips for anyone, and especially for the shy speaker.

  3. Hi there!

    I am also doing the A to Z Challenge and focusing on picture books because I am a children’s picture book author. Good luck with the challenge!

    Take care,

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com

  4. I have trouble speaking in public, however after having to facilitate group discussions in college, I am slowly becoming better at it. Good post.

  5. What an amazing story! I’m very sad that your teachers and classmates picked on you (which seems particularly horrible of the teachers) but that makes your positive attitude all the more inspiring.

    I heard the astronaut Chris Hadfield on the radio the other day. He said that he loved public speaking and that when he looks out into the audience he thinks that everyone there is a friend of his or someone he’s met. I guess he’s met a lot of people!

    I often speak publicly but it’s not my natural element. My natural element is more …. last stool at the back of the bookstore.

Leave a Reply

