A to Z Challenge/ Bucket list (D) Denial

I think I just like making my life harder, but I guess it’s a good thing when I’m doing stuff I like. I could not find a way to take a picture of Denial, so I decided to draw it. Here’s the result!

Mr. Denial by S. Green

Mr. Denial by S. Green

 

“you can’t get away from yourself by moving from one place to another.”
― Ernest HemingwayThe Sun Also Rises

Well all have been in denial at some point in life, sometimes the truth is too scary to face, sometimes we thank we are doing it for the right reason but the truth always come back to hunt us. I, myself have been in denial about some aspects of my life and depression actually helped me face them and heal from it.

-Being abused: It took me 10 years before admitting that I needed to take care of the PTSD caused by being abused as a child. Accepting it, talking about it and forgiving has been the best thing that ever happened to me in my life.

-Being obese: I think it’s the first time that I’m really facing my weight as a problem, and taking care of it from a psychological stand point. It’s really hard to admit to yourself that you are obese, the word still scares me. But now, there is no more excuses, I need to live a healthy life.

Being an artist: I always thought I was a math person, and that identity went well for me. I was always scared to express myself by using arts, I new I liked writing, but I never thought I was good at it. The same goes for painting, it’s only now that I’m starting to get confident, and think that maybe it’s a plausible avenue for my future.

Have you ever been in denial of something? What was it? What made you face the truth? 

 

 

Posted on April 4, 2014, in A to Z Challenge, Completed tasks (Bucket list), Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Denial is an ugly monster all of us keep hidden in our closets! Good for you for admitting yours and seeking help! That is a very brave act! My denial is how bad my addictions are, see the letter A. God bless you and prayers for healing of your PTSD. I have had it for 2 years from a car accident and its definitely a battle. You sound strong so you’ll be OK!

  2. Hope you enjoy lots of encouraging comments from this post. You obviously do have a gift for sharing yourself in writing and art. You have some long term goals so hang in there, persist even when there’s a not-so-good day or event. Rooting for you.

  3. Thank you for this piece. It hit home. You did wonderful.

Leave a Reply

