Spanking Kids Makes Them Lawbreakers

Spanking misbehaving kids is a topic debated by parents everywhere. And now, with the release of a new study, there appears to be solid, scientific evidence against the practice. Anthony explains what the researchers behind the study uncovered.

Read More:
College Students More Likely to Be Lawbreakers if Spanked as Children, New UNH Research Finds
http://www.unh.edu/news/releases/2013…
“No matter where they live in the world, university students who were spanked as children are more likely to engage in criminal behavior, according to new research by Murray Straus, co-director of University of New Hampshire Family Research Lab.”

Murray A. Straus
http://pubpages.unh.edu/~mas2/

Child abuse and neglect and the brain–a review.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/10…
“Developmental psychology and the study of behaviour and emotion have tended to be considered in parallel to the study of neurobiological processes. This review explores the effects of child abuse and neglect on the brain, excluding nonaccidental injury that causes gross physical trauma to the brain.”

Children who are spanked have lower IQs, new research finds
http://phys.org/news173077612.html
“Children who are spanked have lower IQs worldwide, including in the United States, according to new groundbreaking research by University of New Hampshire professor Murray Straus. The research results will be presented Friday, Sept. 25, 2009, at the 14th International Conference on Violence, Abuse and Trauma, in San Diego, Calif.”

Spare the rod and develop the child
http://phys.org/news/2011-07-rod-chil…
Children in a school that uses corporal punishment performed significantly worse in tasks involving “executive functioning” — psychological processes such as planning, abstract thinking, and delaying gratification — than those in a school relying on milder disciplinary measures such as time-outs, according to a new study involving two private schools in a West African country.

Spanking and Child Development Across the First Decade of Life
http://www.pediatrics.org/cgi/doi/10.1542/peds.­2013-1227
“OBJECTIVE: To examine the prevalence of maternal and paternal spanking of children at 3 and 5 years of age and the associations between spanking and children’s externalizing behavior and receptive vocabulary through age 9.”

Spanking your kids could affect their vocabulary down the road
http://articles.latimes.com/2013/oct/…
“To spank or not to spank: For most American parents, it isn’t a question. The majority of U.S. children have been spanked at some time in their life, despite a robust body of evidence that suggests spanking a child leads to problems in the future.”

Posted on December 17, 2013, in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. and that is EXACTLY why my kids were NEVER spanked. plus the fact that smacking them around never really seemed like the best response.

  2. There was the saying, “spare the rod, spoil the child.” Now what would be the motto? In my area, the kids learn by 4th grade to call social services if the parents so much as look crossed-eyed.
    Really, I agree. Anger, punishment, and emotional withdrawal or any negative reinforcement is just that – a reason for a child to pick up a resentment and develop poor maladjusted attitudes and behaviors and yet expect as though they have the finest of intentions and therefore they are blameless – and that is some of what really goes on with the other side of punishments. Negativity brings about frustrations, resentments, misunderstandings, bitterness, an the like. Its in no way a solution. A family that wants to thrive must be living in the acts of their family solution – same really goes at work or school. When everyone has well defined roles, things will go along much more smoothly. It takes knowing something and plenty of maturity and compassion to lead a family into healthy relating and thriving together.
    ~ Eric

  3. We were never spanked as children so I guess the study is true, but my irony now is sometimes i found myself wanting to spank my child, he is testing my patience all the time, I’m just thankful i can stop myself before I do then I’m the one who goes on time out.

  4. I grew up being spanked/smacked. I have never broken the law. I have raised/still raising three beautiful children. I did an IQ test a few years ago and it is quite high.
    I learned as I was growing up that if I did something wrong there would be consequences i.e. I was smacked.
    I’m sorry but I honestly believe that smacking a child is not wrong if done with love and not anger. All three of my children have been smacked in their lives. My oldest daughter is married with three children and worked since leaving school. Last month she completed four years of graduate study to qualify as a high school teacher. My son is a strong christian and married man. My Tween has exceptional grades.
    I could go on but reading studies like this make me question what is happening in the world.

Leave a Reply

